:)

I just wanted to take this moment, on Saturday evening, while home, and not out socializing, or at a party, or any such thing, to say.

I love the smiley emoticon. I use it often. A lot even. All the time maybe.

You know. I get it. Not everyone likes, or respects my friend, πŸ™‚

Also, I understand. As a “writer” I should be able to express “:)” with words and not with actually the invocation of “:)”. (I do not know where to place my period. I’m pretty sure it goes inside the quotation marks, but then it would mess with my smiley, like a mole or something, so I put it on the outside, because I was all done with the sentence and wanted to let you know.)

Let’s be straight here. Β I’m the same with “!”. (Ugh with the quotes and the period!)

I want you to know, to really know both my enthusiasm and warmth – such that I employ both ! and πŸ™‚

Really. I’m sure my editor would say I use both more than I should. For heaven’s sake Anne your writing stands on its own without all this πŸ™‚ !. (Again with the strange period placement!)

And yet. I do not heed.

Because.

When I saw Victor Borge in concert in the late ’70’s I cried, and laughed and rolled on the floor and was sore the next three days from splitting my sides.

There was a man who knew how to exclaim! Who knew how to punctuate πŸ™‚

If he were alive today, I know he would love my frequent :)’s. Β πŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “:)

  1. Pingback: I wrote that? | Spread Information

  2. Hello madelinelaughs! That is so awesome! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for sharing on your fan page – I am flattered and honored – and am heading over to your page this moment πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

