Know Thyself

First of all. Shout out to Coursera. Free. Free! College courses. From some of the best universities in the world. I cannot recommend it enough. Go! Give it a try. Nothing to lose. So much to gain.

I believe. The more we know. Know. The more we can serve. The more we can understand. The more empathetic we can be.

Mostly,

the more we know

we understand

that

we are connected

that

we are dependent.

bahai temple

We live only a few blocks from the Baha’i Temple. I often include a pass through the gardens on my daily run. There are nine entrances to this magnificent house of worship. Above each entrance is an inscription.

My favorite is:

The earth is but one country; and mankind its citizens.

And yet. We’ve been taught, at least here in America, that our individuality, our independence is a virtue.

How can I reconcile my Self as being One among Many? How to I stand out as a Citizen of the World?

How can I know who I am in the world?

if

I hardly know myself?

And so.

I’ve just begun the Coursera Course: Know Thyself. Here’s a taste of what it’s about:

Just what, if anything, is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her significantly less wise, virtuous, or able than others who have this capacity?

Today’s lecture asks us to list 20 of our own character traits. Professor Green wonders if those close to us, may have a better idea of our “character” than we do ourselves.

Almost 200 posts later. I’m so happy to be here.

The Carrot Seed was conceived, has evolved to explore just this:

Who am I? How can I contribute? Where do I fit in?

Leave a Reply

