Death and Kindness

A big part of Buddhist philosophy is appreciating that we all die.

And we don’t know when.

Could happen now. Or later. Or much, much later.

Who can say?

I’m pretty sure that for most people I know, this is a thought, a discussion, a realization, better left unsaid.

So let’s not say much.

Except.

I just came across a post on Facebook from the Charter for Compassion that I have always loved:

“I expect to pass through this world but once. Any good, therefore, that I can do or any kindness I can show to any fellow creature, let me do it now. Let me not defer or neglect it for I shall not pass this way again.”

~Quaker saying

So. I suppose.

All we need to reflect on.

Is how we can.

Be kind today.

2 thoughts on “Death and Kindness

  1. With all due respect, I rather disagree. Talking about death should probably be avoided around young children, but it’s an everyday reality for (sadly at times) teens, adults and older folks. I don’t mean to say it should be an casual dinner conversation, but with an older person in their sunset years, it helps one prepare for that inevitable day. When my mom passed, all those talks we’d had about what she wanted afterwards, etc., helped me keep my wits about me when she passed. As Gandalf said, death is just another path, one that we all must take.

Leave a Reply

