The Rocks and the Birds and the Leaves

Today.

I was graced with the morning. Where I sat and watched the birds. The juncos and kinglets and robins and finches. The one darling little wren hiding by the pond. The blue jays and cardinals. And downy woodpecker. And redheaded woodpecker. Chickadees and nuthatch – both red and white breasted. The chorus of sparrows. Everyone hid for a bit. Knowing somehow. The hawk was near.

I was graced with the afternoon when I ran to the beach. And found all the rocks. Crazy numbers of rocks. Washed ashore by Sandy.

On my walk with the dogs. I was graced with the autumn. And her leaves. All the colors and shapes and sizes. Scattered in wind clumps on the lawn and the sidewalk. Daisy won’t walk through them you know.  Suspect of what may lurk beneath. She skirts around. Or. Sometimes she just stops. Then I pull her along like a donkey.

The bounty. Of the Rocks and the Birds and the Leaves.

I am graced with today.

Leave a Reply

