Mission Accomplished

Cross that off my list! This morning I solved the Rubik’s Cube. Granted. It was with a detailed set of instructions entitled, How to Solve a Rubik’s Cube.

I’m not going to kid you. This colorful cube has been on my bookshelf for thirty years. Ok. Actually longer than that. Because I remember sitting in the back seat of my family’s car spinning away. My father chiding me, “You’re never going to figure that out.”

Since then and every now and again I pick it up and twist it around and fret. Kind of dumb. But. Really and truly. I have always and forever wanted to make every side solid.

Six solid sides. That’s all I’ve ever wanted.

Why not?

I’ve wanted to solve the damned Rubik’s Cube for more than three-quarters of my life.

A year or two ago I  even tried to follow a you tube fellow who guaranteed I could solve it with him. Nothing. No doing. No such luck.

Until today.

I started at it two nights ago. Here’s the trick. Max and Henry believed I could do it. Tim, not so much.

And so.

I worked within my limits. I read through a handful of instructions. Familiarized myself with the idea of a cube. It’s three dimensions. The terminology of the “how to.”

Then I put it down.

Until I was ready.

This morning I was ready. And within 10 minutes. It was solved.

Isn’t that the craziest thing?

4 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished

  1. Congratulations! I was glad to read that the sons were behind you, though a but disappointed that your other male was less so. My initial thought was to bring that up as a topic of converse at Tuesday’s lunch, but experience has taught me the folly of such, so… kudos on completing a ‘bucket list’ item!

  2. That is crazy! Congratulations! I never thought about ‘learning’ how to do it. The Rubik’s cube taunted me in my childhood too but I never knew anyone who could solve one. It’s definitely something to be proud of and I want to try to figure it out now too!

    • Thanks Katy! Now that I’ve solved it with instructions – I can’t imagine ever in a zillion years being able to solve it without! That would be utter genius 🙂 I say go for it!

Leave a Reply

