Being Present

At 9:29 or so tomorrow morning, summer turns to fall. Officially!

At this moment, on Friday, September 21st at 7pm, it’s raining. It’s dark. It’s cold.

Two days ago. I swear! It was sunny and warm. Hot even.

What to do with change?

The house is a mess! I am in the midst of converting. Converting the Lego room to a study. Converting being the mother of two young boys to two….young men.

I am in the midst of change. With the weather. With my house. With my family.

My mother is having hip replacement surgery two days after I run the marathon.

Does anyone wonder that my hip is bothering me? Am I worried? About my aging parents?

Yes.

So much change.

When it was so recently warm and sunny and hot even. Now it is dark and cold and rainy.

What to do with this very sudden change.

Be present.

Really. What else is there to do?

2 thoughts on “Being Present

  1. Sitting here drinking my coffee on the second day of fall, a very sunny morning in Boston, and I came across your post while perusing Facebook. Almost too simple your solution to sudden change, but wow! Perfect. Thank you. I needed that.

Leave a Reply

