Gazing at my Gazing Ball

Sometimes when you’re lying in the hammock you see the most amazing things.

I was reading Paul Fussell, otherwise minding my own business, when one, then two, then… a lot of sea gulls starting circling above. We live a bit more than a mile from the lake and so this onslaught of copious gulls was very odd. I often see a scout gull or two way up high, but never before have I seen this many over our house. They were circling and soaring and darting. More and more kept coming from beyond the roof tops. Initially I feared they were on to the Koi in my pond.

But no. They stayed above.

Watching closely now, I began to see the other birds among them. Ah ha! The telltale white wing bars.

Nighthawks!

If you’re lucky, right around now in Chicagoland, at dusk, you can witness their migration south. For 15 minutes I got to watch the gulls and the nighthawks swooping and diving and devouring midair insects. It was quite a show! I’m still not certain how the gulls linked up with the nighthawks though. Any speculations are welcome.

Anyhoo. That was all last night. Tonight. Not so much is going on. So. Instead. I’m just gazing at my gazing ball.

One thought on “Gazing at my Gazing Ball

  1. Pingback: Tentacled Harbingers of the End Times | Two Different Girls

Leave a Reply

