Girl On the Run

I’m back to running 5-6 days a week. And I’m back to loving it.  Mostly – it’s so easy. Or maybe better – so simple.  Put on some shoes and I’m out the door for a little fresh air and exercise.

On my run today. I saw a giant heron gliding overhead. A convertible Rolls Royce cruising by.  I waved to a little girl in her stroller wearing a sun bonnet. And said hi to a dozen people walking by.  The whole time, I was awed by the beauty of the Caribbean blue lake that kept me company along the way.

I love running.

For sure, I’ve tried to complicate it over the years. With crazy training schedules, super-shoes, GPS’s and heart rate monitors. Setting my goals too far and too fast.

These days. I don’t always wear a watch. Never a GPS. Ditched the heart rate deal. No training schedule. I don’t even wear socks anymore. A minimum pair of shoes and appropriate outfit for the weather. And I am out the door.

And for the next few months – I’m running for a cause.

Girls on the Run.

It’s an awesome program in our local grade schools and around the country that promotes positive emotional, social, mental, spiritual and physical development for girls. It’s amazing! I could gush about it here – but rather – I encourage you to visit their site and be inspired!

I’ve been an athlete my entire life. Where would I be without that? I can’t imagine. Being able to run. Being active. Has literally saved me. It’s given me confidence. Self-esteem. Fitness. Purpose. Joy. I would like to give that sense of confidence and joy to as many little girls as possible.

So. On Sunday October 7th I’ll be running the Chicago Marathon precisely for this purpose. To raise money to support this wonderful organization.  If you would like to offer your support you can contribute via my race page. And help spread the gift of running to girls everywhere!

2 thoughts on “Girl On the Run

  1. Pingback: Runapalooza for Girls on the Run « The Carrot Seed

Leave a Reply

