Topsy Turvy Times

Lately. Life has been topsy turvy. The only routine is that there is no routine.

Of course. A great deal of this has to do with the busyness of our springtime schedules. School. Sports. Music. Meetings. Very modern-day, time and energy juggling.

And then there’s this crazy weather. Totally and completely out of character unpredictable. Over the span of April and May it has been really hot. Really cold. Really dry. Really rainy. Really windy. And there’s been hail. Big giant crazy hail.

Then, just yesterday there was a comically Gigantosaurus moon – looming menacingly close to earth. Or romantically close. If you like that sort of thing. Which I do.

Regardless. I think it made people a little nutsy. But then again. Maybe that’s just me. All in all a topsy turvy spring.

But more than anything. This no routine routine. Is impacted by the ways in which I have changed. My go to behaviors are becoming less and less valid. As I’m understanding the meaning of loving-kindness, equanimity, and  joy. To practice what I’ve been preaching. Nonviolence. Nonaggression. Compassion. Has meant that I’ve needed to change a bunch of patterns. Habits that were learned and embedded.

In the book, The Pocket Pema Chodron, Pema suggests,

Every day we could reflect…and ask ourselves, “Am I going to add to the aggression in the world?” Every day at the moment when things get edgy, we can just ask ourselves, “Am I going to practice peace, or am I going to war?”

Am I going to add to the aggression of the world? Am I going to engage? How can I strengthen and heal myself so I can be more open to others?

Reflecting on these questions. Learning to discern what is harmful what is helpful. I am finding that the answers are not always the obvious ones. And that results aren’t always instant.

And so.

With patience. I’m confident that these topsy turvy times will make peace possible.

2 thoughts on “Topsy Turvy Times

Leave a Reply

