Where We Find Happiness

Here’s something I just figured out. No one is responsible for me. But me.

No one is responsible for my happiness but me.

And. Here’s a big one for me. I am not responsible for your happiness. You are.

You are responsible for your happiness.

I will let people down. I will let you down.

Ouch. That is so hard for me.

And yet.

So empowering!

You are responsible for your happiness.

I will let people down! Own it!

You will let people down!

Because. x and y and z. Because.

Human beings make choices. And mistakes. It is not so simple.

You must be responsible for your own happiness.

Do not give that away.

And so.

This weekend. My family. My boys. That’s where I find happiness.

Sitting in the car with Max watching Henry play soccer with Tim freezing on the sidelines.

Max and I on our adventure to his awesome piano recital on Michigan Avenue. On the nine foot Steinway. In the window. Serenading the tourists walking by.

Texting Henry about his game.

Home for Sunday night dinner together.

Happiness.

4 thoughts on “Where We Find Happiness

  1. Wow that is so very true! That was a big mistake I made in my marriage. Expecting my husband to make me happy. I can see that now. And ironically it was/is something I still do – feel responsible for making other people happy too. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

