Belly Laughs

Where do real rough and tumble belly laughs come from?

I have laughed more on this vacation than perhaps I have all year.

Max, Tim, Henry. They’re all funny. The lot of them. Surrendering myself to their antics. Has had me rolling on the floor. Tears streaming down my cheeks. Laughing hard enough so both my face and my belly hurt. It feels so good! Almost as if it isn’t allowed. Like when I used to get those bouts of uncontrollable laughter in church. (Of course that wasn’t allowed)

And it’s just silly stuff really. Harmless all of it. We laugh at ourselves. We laugh at each other. A pair of us has inside jokes the others don’t get. And they laugh anyway because the two of us are a contagious spectacle. We can joke and laugh over just about anything.

That makes me curious to think about. I know we’re lucky because we’re such a tight-knit team. We’re very comfortable with each other. We know where not to tread. We know when a “joke” is not a “joke.”

But we also sense when one us may need to lighten up. And so we offer up one of the best gifts we can give – a joke. A “funny.” An observation that is slightly askew. Just enough of a reminder to stop taking life too seriously. Just enough to say, “Look I love you. Now get over yourself.”

I don’t know. The world needs to laugh more. Yes? It’s a stress reliever. It’s bonding. It’s loving. It feels good. Darned good. Do yourself a special favor and find a good belly laugh today. And if you can’t find one. Maybe give one as a gift to someone you love.

One thought on “Belly Laughs

  1. Pingback: L is for Loquacious | Jenny Keller Ford, Author

Leave a Reply

