The Devil Made Me Do It!

A great gift in life is to know your intentions. If at every moment and in every situation, with every encounter, you are aware of what motivates you and what the desired outcome is, you are golden.

Peace is possible.

But not if you as an individual, have not taken the time to explore your intentions.

With all my heart. I believe if we all looked into our hearts with compassion for ourselves we would not have an intention to harm others. Harming others causes deep suffering. To harm another, is to harm yourself.

If we are unaware of what is in our heart, so often our intentions become confused and we hurt those who are dear to us because we do not understand the meaning of our own actions.

If something as simple as lunch with a friend, can turn into hurtful speech. How can we have peace in this world?

Start right there. With a single interaction with a friend. What is your intention? To foster compassion? To cause harm? To weave peace in this world?

We don’t even have peace among our friends.

“What was your intention?”

“I didn’t mean to hurt your feelings.”

“Then how could you mock me like that?”

“I was just kidding.”

“By belittling me?”

“You’re too sensitive.”

“You’re mean.”

“I wasn’t mean on purpose.”

“What was your intention?”

“To be funny?”

“Seriously.”

“The Devil made me do it?”

“I respect your attempt at humor. I was a fan of Flip Wilson back in the day.”

“I’m sorry. I really didn’t mean to hurt your feelings.”

“Then, why did you make fun of me?”

“I don’t know.”

And so.

We have a choice. Sit. Listen. What is your intention?

2 thoughts on “The Devil Made Me Do It!

  1. The devil never made Flip Wilson do anything – it was “Geraldine” who got into all the trouble! My intention was to make you laugh – hope it worked!

Leave a Reply

