Over the Hump

The thing about getting over the hump is. You don’t know when it’s going to happen.

And too everybody’s hump is different. And also, some people don’t even know they have a hump. I actually was unaware of mine until like a year ago or so. When I bumped up against it head first. Bam!

When I was a senior in high school we celebrated every Wednesday. Hump Day. We reveled in our day by eating only green m and m’s and wearing sweatshirts with our hump-day club nicknames emblazoned on our backs.

We should celebrate stuff more often don’t you think?

Every once in a while as I send the boys off to school on a Wednesday I say, “Happy Hump Day!” Yuh. As you imagine. Total eye-roller.

And so. I’ve been working on my hump. I got super mad at stuff. Then super hurt at stuff. Then I stopped trying to be perfect at stuff.

And of course, I’ve been blogging about stuff. And always meditating on stuff.

So. Today. I’m talking with my mom on the phone. And I finally understand what I need to do to get over the hump.

Talking with my mom today. I realized I had a choice. To leave behind all the “stuff” I’ve been carrying.

Talking with my mom. Listening. Thinking, “Be kind.”

With kindness I’m lighter.

Light enough to make it over the hump.

 

Leave a Reply

