Kinky-Curly Curling Custard

The weather here is so amazingly beautiful that everyone is in a fantastic mood. How refreshing!

And I had a fabulous run on this beautiful day. I sat on a rock down by the lake, letting the water lap around my feet. In March. In Chicago. It feels like summer vacation.

On my run home I was thinking about “shoulds.” You should. I should. She should. And expectations. And how sometimes it’s the expectations and the shoulds that create trouble. Rather than the “what is.”

However, because it is such a gorgeous day. I’m going to leave that for my next post.

And talk, instead about trying new things. Specifically trying new “product” for your hair.

I’m wearing my hair very short lately. It has a bit of a wave. Sometimes a bit of a curl. Sometimes it’s straight. So. To gain some control over what my hair’s day may hold, I use product. And I am always and forever hoping I have stumbled upon the next best thing. I have a medicine cabinet full of not the next bests.

I don’t know that I was actually going to purchase a new hair product while shopping yesterday at Whole Foods. I was just sort of looking (for the next best thing) when the helpful hair care attendant swept down upon me. I relayed my quest and was left breathless by her unbridled enthusiasm for Kinky-Curly Curling Custard.  She opened the tester for me to try, we rubbed it between our fingers, so smooth and light. I was caught up in her swirl. “Smell it!” She enthused. “Couldn’t you just eat it?” Well, yes actually, it smelled like a warm macaroon and made me instantly hungry. I was sold!

Of course, as with all new styling items, I was skeptical when I got it home. After showering, I tentatively dipped my fingers into the small (but hugely priced) tub (it is reminiscent of all natural, clear, Dippity Doo.) I grew worried.  As you work it into your hair, it no longer feels light and smooth. But suddenly sticky like the back of a stamp. And the smell. Like a beach in Mexico, deep tropical sun tan lotion mixed with pina coladas. I fear during bee season that I may be targeted.

Concerned by what the end-product may hold for my hair, I blew it dry and I let it “rest” for a bit. I came back to the mirror and saw what I knew all along. This product meant curly.

Ok. So maybe not exactly the next best thing in styling products. Lacks the control I strive for.  I smell like dessert. And if I get caught in the rain, things will probably stick to my head.

But. It does have the best name.

One thought on “Kinky-Curly Curling Custard

  1. Haha!! Love it, Anne. I know all about those weird hair goops, but that one sounds especially fantastic!

Leave a Reply

