24/7

I have a few confessions to make.

I am uncomfortable being connected and being accessible 24/7.

I don’t enjoy having the tv or music on in the background while I’m working.

I often sit staring into space for periods at a time.

I enjoy quiet.

There. I’ve said it.

I like to consider myself an introverted extrovert. I think I’ve pretty much always felt that way, even as I’ve tried to change my habits to match the 21st century lifestyle. I have a smart phone, a laptop, a Kindle Fire. I belong to Facebook. You can follow me on Twitter. I have the ability to be connected everywhere all the time.

And yet. I’m not. I can’t keep up.

While I very much enjoy my friends, and sports, and parties, and all the kids activities, I find that I absolutely need my down time, my quiet time alone to recharge. And I honestly think our entire world could benefit from this practice as well.

So. Didn’t I feel validated when my dear friend Jane (via Doug)  sent a link to the article, “Author Pico Iyer: Seeking Stillness and Silence in the Rush of Business Life.” In it he talks about the value of silence and stillness amidst the busyness of daily life.

Somehow, the more ways of connecting and communicating we have, the more inundated we are and the harder it may be for us to communicate deeply.

I feel that being connected… is a little like standing two inches away from a wall. You’re getting instantly the excitement of all the latest information, but you have no way to put in perspective, to step back and really see its consequences.

If we don’t take time to. Stop. All this information and entertainment just becomes noise. And a distraction without meaning, or emotions, or reality.

Even more scary, it threatens to overwhelm our own opinions and ideas with that of others. So that we do not know our own mind anymore.

Maybe for a few minutes, tonight, tomorrow. Sit. Just sit.

4 thoughts on “24/7

  1. I love quiet. I drive around with the radio off love the house quiet no tv or radio. I often feel the tv or radio overpowers our mind with stimulus. Repetitive stimulus that is void of meaning. Great blog.

  2. I guess my main concession to cutting off the outside world is turning off the cellphone; I refuse to be at the world’s beck-and-call from that tech corner (I do check it once a day… if I remember). Our sitches are different; folks and critters abound in your house, I’m a solo act in mine, so ambient noise (music, talk or news radio) is kind of a must in the Hawlverse. Silence in the house only lets me hear the upstairs neighbor stomping around or vacuuming, though peace does effectively reign.

  3. I often feel the same way – and have often debated the merits/demerits of such a connect lifestyle with myself. I’ll have to check out that article! Thank you for this post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

