Facebook

Today is my one week anniversary on Facebook – Hurrah! it’s way different from what I thought. I don’t know why I was so afraid of it? So, good for me for joining! And, let me be honest, I’m not quite certain how to navigate yet – I’m not sure what will show up where when I make a comment, or hit “like” on something I’m reading somewhere else. I’ve been surprised more than a few times by both. And I’m not sure I’m following along on certain threads. Perhaps that will come with time. Or, maybe, it will just be what it is.

Here’s what has struck me though. I was reading a movie review this afternoon. The reviewer was talking about how the plot drove the characters saying that, “…these absolutely ordinary people turn out to be infinitely interesting.” (I haven’t seen the movie yet, but it comes highly recommended.)

If you step back and look at Facebook from above, doesn’t it really drive that point home?  We’re all ordinary and infinitely interesting. From Susan, the cashier at SafeWay, to the Dalai Lama who proclaims, “I am just a simple monk,” we’re all just people after all.

And yet. Regardless who you bump up against, and whether you care to know or not, they’ve all got a story to tell. Ok – so their story could bore you to tears, but that doesn’t mean that it doesn’t fascinate someone else. And they have this incredible format with which to share it. How awesome! We can all be friends.

Leave a Reply

