Synchronicity II

Since I ran across a green grasshopper this past October my world has blossomed. Good fortunes and new beginnings. And with this has come some awesome bits of coincidence. Connections. Synchronicity.

The latest has been the “nexus” of Marion Roach Smith and Gary Taubes.

I can say unequivocally that Gary Taubes has made my life better. I’ve been following Gary since discovering his books via a tiny blurb in Discover magazine toward the end of 2010. I was a totally skeptical 47 year old marathon runner who, because of Gary’s work, converted her diet from bagels and jelly to bacon and eggs. And I feel great!

Gary set me on the primal/paleo path that has rocked my world. I feel better, I think better, I might even look better.

And with that new attitude, I set myself to begin writing again. I understand, for me, that writing has the ability to unlock puzzles, to free ideas, and to play with concepts. I did it a long time ago but somehow, along the way, I came to fear it. What it may reveal. To me. To others. I forgot that it could also be entertaining, and maybe, enlightening. Maybe even necessary.

And so. It turns out that Gary Taubes and Marion Roach are best friends. I know it sounds kind of crazy, but I’ve been reading Marion’s book and blog about writing, and I think she is going to have just as great an impact on my life as Gary has.

One thought on “Synchronicity II

  1. Oh, that’s so lovely. I am really delighted by this, as well as deeply touched.
    Gary’s work is really important, and to say that the diet he has researched and recommended saved my life is the plain truth.
    I am honored to have my work compared to his. And for a nickel I’ll tell you any of his secrets. JUST KIDDING! Ha.
    I look forward to reading more of your work.
    Thanks again.
    -Marion

Leave a Reply

