Lots of Love

We sure do cover a lot of ground here yes? Thanks for the awesome comments, and for reading, and thinking, and rolling your eyes when you need to, and talking about stuff at the dinner table, and calling me up, or sending an e-mail and feeling the energy, or whatever you got, wherever you are.  It is all appreciated!

And so. I had to take Daisy, our coonhound to the vet yesterday. She’s got some sort of nasty deal growing on her front left leg. Peanut, our dachshund was outraged that she was not coming with! And I hear that she worried the whole time we were away. I don’t know what Peanut would do if Daisy were ever to leave her.  Right now the two are on their bed in front of the fire. Peanut has her head on Daisy’s rump while Daisy lies with both legs extended, head up, nose to the screen worshiping the warmth of the blaze. I’m sure you all know that I could not finish the book, Where the Red Fern Grows and obviously, I would never survive the movie. And if Peanut had to live without Daisy?  I just don’t know how we all would manage.

All this to say, I so love my pets.

We also have two cats. Gracie and Blue. Everyone thinks that cats are so fastidious. They are not. I woke up this morning to a giant pile of cat food vomit. Not even chewed. So not fastidious. It was like someone took a pail of orange kibble and spit and swooshed it across the floor. I don’t even know how her little cat belly held that much to vomit up.

Anyway, that is not an unusual occurrence. I won’t even get into how the other cat, Gracie, pees “out of the cat box” which is a term that means, “on the leather chair.”

And yet? I love them as unconditionally as they love me. And I know that all five of us are very lucky for that.

2 thoughts on “Lots of Love

  1. I often marvel at how much richer and happier my life is because of having two dogs. It’s hard to explain because there is so much stuff that we have to deal with and do for our pets- inside, outside, food, walks, training….. Yet all that goes away when they do something funny or look at you in just that way or sleep with their heads under the furniture. The way they prance into the house like they haven’t seen you in days when in fact it has only been mere moments. It is all so grand!

  2. Pingback: Laugh with me. Please. « The Carrot Seed

Leave a Reply

