I Could Be Running

A beautiful autumn day – I should get a run in. Maybe I’ll just rake some leaves instead.  I used to run 6 days a week no matter what, because that’s what I was supposed to do. I ran marathons. I’m a runner. (Please note the tenses!) Will I run another marathon? Maybe. Probably. We’ll see.

I’m running tomorrow for sure – no matter what – ten miles or so, maybe more, maybe less as the time and the route and the weather strike me. Tomorrow is Sunday, and all of us long-distance runner types go to The Church of the Long-run on Sundays. But, and this is a big but, (if you know me, you also know I’m holding back on the “big butt” joke)  I’m running tomorrow because I can, because I like to, finally though, not because I have to.  How huge is that? For me it’s huge. I don’t have to run if I don’t want to.

More tomorrow or the next day on the how’s and why’s and who’s of this revelation. I need to get back to raking the leaves, mostly because I want to.

One thought on “I Could Be Running

  1. There’s a worthy life lesson, in learning the meditative and relaxing potential of just doing household chores, I think. For me, it’s washing dishes; somewhere in the warm water flowing, the lemon-scented liquid and scrubbing sponge getting everything clean, there’s a harmony to be found. I have no doubt it’s there to be had in raking leaves as well…

Leave a Reply

